Tomorrow I embrace the awkward.

I am spending time with other volunteers so I don’t want to be blogging too long .

Orientation has been a whirlwind. It has included language lessons, briefings on safety, medical, introductory meetings with program staff, and some baby steps of walking around and talking to Albanians. We have been staying in a wonderful hotel in our central training city, known in peace corps terms as a hub city.

Tomorrow afternoon we leave for our host family sites that surround our hub city.

I most likely have even less access to internet. My host family city village is very small. I don’t know much else but my host family consists of a host mom, her 20 year old son who is a farmer and her 16 year old daughter who is a student. I’ll post more after I have spent some time there because now everything is inaccurate or hearsay.

The first few moments, or days, or weeks, or months with a host family can be uncomfortable and awkward. Your knowledge of Albanian language and culture is limited and requires a willingness to be a total fool in front strangers.

Embrace the awkward, have a laugh , maybe a shot of raki and enjoy.

Welcome to Peace Corps Albania !

2 thoughts on “Tomorrow I embrace the awkward.

  1. Elisabeth says:

    So glad you’re there and sort of settling in. And don’t worry about making a fool of yourself; I do that everyday here at home! Keep the photos coming!

Leave a Reply

